Logo Turisme del Berguedà

Places to visit with the family

Museu de les mines de Cercs

TOPICS: Family

The Cercs Mines Museum takes visitors back a hundred and fifty years, enabling them to relive a day in the life of a miner living in the Sant Corneli colony, in Cercs, in the 20th century. The Museum is a collection of exhibitions, audiovisual material and personal experiences. Because mining has conditioned in one way or another, the history, memories and personality of the inhabitants of Alt Berguedà and even today, many of them can still speak about the mines from their personal memories. Founded in 1999, the Mine Museum is dedicated monographically to coal mining, and it has become a centre for interpretation that shows the relationship of the mines with the geological surroundings, the landscape, economy and society of the area.

The Museum has a permanent exhibition that displays everything related to coal such as its extraction, transport or use as a fuel. You can also see two audio-visual presentations that show the 1932 Events in Fígols and the Closure of the mines in 1977, two of the most significant social protests that took place in that area. And you learn about life around the mine: festivities, leisure, work done by women, the school, the church, the dispensary, businesspeople, workers... This journey in time -not so long ago- has a special intensity when the visitor becomes a part of the natural background and enters the house of a miner, becoming aware of the distribution of the house, its dimensions and its corners and details.

For an hour and a half, visitors will see the life of mining families in an experience that includes a trip in a wagon taking them  450 metres into the gallery of Sant Romà, open in 1860 and active until 1991. In this guided tour, visitors can perceive the harsh conditions of the miners when they went to work in the colony of Sant Corneli, which together with nearby Sant Josep and La Consolació, formed the most important mining area in Catalonia.


  • Town: Cercs
  • Adress: Plaça de Sant Romà, s/n, Sant Corneli
  • Web site: http://www.mmcercs.cat
  • Schedule: FROM JANUARY 8TH TO JULY 31ST

    Weekdays: from 10:00 to 14.00
    Weekends and bank holidays: from 10:00 to 15:00

    Group visits upon request in the afternoons.
    On regular Mondays (bank holidays excluded) the Museum will be closed.


    AUGUST:

    Weekdays: from 10:00 ato 14:00 and from 16:00 to 19:00
    Bank holidays: from 10:00 to 19.00

    Monday: open


    FROM SEPTEMBER 1ST TO DECEMBER 21ST:

    Weekdays: from 10:00 to 14:00
    Weekends and bank holidays: from 10:00 to 15.00

    Group visits upon request in the afternoons.
    On regular Mondays (bank holidays excluded) the Museum will be closed.
  • Post code: 08698
  • Phone: 938 249 025
  • Culture circuit  In village  
Center items on the map

[TambeInteressar]

OFICINA DE TURISME DEL BERGUEDÀ

Carretera C16 Km 96

Berga, Barcelona 08600

Tel. 93 824 77 00

E-mail: turisme@elbergueda.cat

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

  • 2444
  • Green-Destinations-Logo-FINAL-full-1-blanc.png

[Premsa]

 

  • logo-agencia.png
  • logo-terra-futurs.png
  • logo-diba.png
  • logo-pirineus.png
  • nattur-blanc3.png
  • interreg-blanc.png

Follow us

  • Twitter 2
  • Facebook
  • Youtube 2
  • Instagram